The Lazy Woman’s Eggplant Parm

I love a good eggplant parmesan, but I don’t love the time it takes to make it and I don’t like the amount of oil involved in a traditional recipe.  I often make a version of this dish that is lighter in calories and time, and is gluten-free and vegan.

Image

To make this version, I first peel and slice an eggplant and precook the slices on a cookie sheet in a 450 degree oven until they are slightly browned and shrunken.  I also do the same with a zucchini.  Once these are done, I usually have enough for two layers of eggplant, with a layer of zucchini in between.  I put a layer of pasta sauce on the bottom, add a layer of eggplant, then add more sauce.  I then sprinkle some bread crumbs, homemade parmesan (recipe to follow), and optionally some vegan cheese, like Daiya.  I repeat the process until all of my slices are used up, and bake in a 450 degree oven.  To spruce up my store-bought pasta sauce, I add some fresh basil and oregano.

I love that this satisfies my cravings for a casserole or lasagna, without having any fried ingredients or pasta!

Image

Vegan parmesan recipe:

In a food processor combine 1/4 t of salt, 1/4 cup of nutritional yeast, and 1 cup of almonds.  Pulse until finely crumbled.  I like to store this in the fridge or freezer.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

