Banana Blueberry Muffins

DSC04519
Some of the easiest kinds of recipes to make gluten-free are those that contain plenty of bananas.  The bananas add sweetness, moisture and serve as a binder in the recipe.  I saw a recipe on My New Roots for a banana bread that was vegan and low in sweeteners, but it wasn’t gluten-free.  I decided to adapt the recipe by substituting some flours for the regular flour and also by adding a few extras.  I also keep forgetting to buy a bread pan, so I made them into muffins.

DSC04523

Here is my version of the recipe.

Ingredients:

1/4 cup almond milk
6 T coconut oil, in liquid form
6 T maple syrup
1 T vanilla
2 1/4 cups mashed ripe bananas (my bananas were small, so I needed about 8!)
1 cup of gluten-free bisquit baking mix (I used Bob’s Red Mill brand, the regular all purpose blend should also work)
2/3 cup chickpea flour
1/3 cup buckwheat flour
1 t pumpkin pie spice blend (cinnamon, ginger, cloves, nutmeg, etc.)
1 t xantham gum
1 t baking soda
1 t baking powder
1/2 t sea salt
1 cup blueberries (I used frozen)
1/2 cup of sliced almonds (I think chopped walnuts or pecans would be better!)

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
In a large bowl, mix the dry ingredients together. In a medium bowl, mash the bananas. Add the oil, maple syrup and vanilla. Add the wet to the dry and mix until well combined. Then stir in the blueberries and almonds. Pile high in muffin cups. Bake for about 30 minutes. Recipe makes about 12 large muffins.

DSC04530

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

