Spring is in the Air! – Tatziki Dip

The weather has been amazing this weekend, and I can’t wait for summer!  My food preferences tend to change from less heavy, hot meals, to lighter, “fresher,” meals.  I had a craving for tatziki sauce, so I decided to make my own.  It is pretty easy to make it yourself, and the results are worth it.  It is great with veggies and rice, dolmades, as a salad dressing, or even falafel.

Image

Here is how I made mine:

Ingredients:

  • 1 454g tub of plain coconut yogurt (not the single serve size, the bigger one)
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • about 2/3 rds of an english cucumber
  • 1 T of fresh dill (optional)
  • pepper and salt, to taste
  • half of a fresh squeezed lemon

Directions

Peel and seed the cucumber.  Roughly chop it until you have a cup.  Put in a colander and salt with a couple of generous pinches of salt.  Let it drain for about 20 minutes (This takes out the extra moisture in the cucumber, so the resulting dip is thicker).  Once the cucumber is ready, combine in a food processor with the rest of the ingredients and process until desired consistency.  For some reason, my yogurt was super thick in the container, so my dip came out incredibly thick and I had to thin it out with a bit of water.  If you are using a regular non-dairy yogurt but you want a very thick dip, you could experiment with draining the yogurt in a fine colander lined with a couple of layers of cheesecloth over a bowl until it thickens.

I served my dip with a feta that I made out of extra firm tofu, crumbled and marinated in olive oil, lemon juice, lots of salt, pepper and Italian seasoning.  I also made a salad with the feta, onions, tomatoes, cucumbers, lettuce and parsley.  I bought some black olives to put in the salad but completely forgot about them until now.  I also grilled some eggplant, red peppers and onions.  I made some of my baked falafel as well.

The other day, I used my leftover beanballs with some spinach and brown rice pasta, tomato sauce and garlic bread.

Image

 

I am really looking forward to the spring and summer, and the accompanying fresh fruits and vegetables that come with it!

Tagged , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Spring is in the Air! – Tatziki Dip

  1. bossyinabowl says:

    i love the idea of using coconut milk!

  2. Molly says:

    These both look awesome—those grilled peppers are blackened to perfection!

Leave a Reply

