Baked Falafel, Lentils and Rice and Caramelized Onions

DSC04486b

I absolutely love falafel, but since being unable to eat wheat, I’ve found it challenging to find out whether or not the falafel in restaurants is truly gluten-free.  The fact that they are deep fried also makes them more of a rare meal for me.  Fortunately, it is pretty easy to make your own! You can make them fried or baked, but I prefer to bake them.  I was hoping to have kale with my falafel, but my grocery store rarely has kale.  Instead, I made lentils and rice and caramelized onions.

Baked Falafel

Ingredients

  • 1 can of chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1/4 c of parsley
  • 2-3 T of chickpea flour
  • salt and pepper
  • olive oil, for brushing

Directions

Preheat oven to 375.  In a food processor, blend onion, garlic and parsley until finely minced.  Add the chickpeas, flour and salt and pepper and pulse until mixed.  There should still be chunks of chickpeas left for texture.  Role the mixture into balls (I used about 2T of falafel mix per ball).  Flatten slightly and brush with olive oil.  Bake at 350 until lightly browned on the outside, for about 20 minutes, flipping after 10 minutes.

To make the lentils and rice, I rinsed and drained 2 cups of rice and 2 cups of lentils and put them in a pot with 8 cups of water.  I added some coriander and cinnamon, and prepared the mixture like I would normally do so for regular rice.  I covered the pot, brought it to a boil, stirred it once, and then simmered it until the rice and lentils were soft.  I then stirred in some minced parsley.

For the caramelized onions, I sliced four small onions and cooked them in a frying pan on medium heat until softened.  I then turned the heat down, stirring them every few minutes and adding a bit of water to prevent them from drying out.

I wanted to make a tahini sauce, but tahini is another thing my grocery store rarely has.  Instead, I made a lemon garlic sauce.  In a blender, I blended a couple of cloves of garlic with a cup of lemon juice.  I then added 2 cups of olive oil while the blender was running. It was an ok sauce, but I still wish it was tahini!

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “Baked Falafel, Lentils and Rice and Caramelized Onions

  1. […] about them until now.  I also grilled some eggplant, red peppers and onions.  I made some of my baked falafel as […]

Leave a Reply

