Ellen DeGeneres on Being Vegan

The “Vegan Diet” is something that is becoming more mainstream and trendy in the last couple of years. Sure, it is great that less animals are being killed, and vegan products are becoming more accessible. However, I’m still not sure I get the Vegan “Diet.” Being vegan isn’t just a diet, it is an ethical way of living your life where you make a choice not to exploit animals in any way, whenever possible. This includes diet, but also other things: clothing, cosmetics, etc. That is why it is refreshing to hear from a celebrity who gets this. An interview with Ellen on why she became a vegan is available here.

She refers to Earthlings, a documentary about factory farming quite often. I was unable to watch the entire thing, as I found it too upsetting. However, from what I’ve seen, I can tell it is a great film with some powerful images.

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Ellen DeGeneres on Being Vegan

  1. I could not agree more! If anything, people should use the term “plant based” diet. Vegan represents soooo much more than just diet!

    I made myself watch all of Earthlings and it was a life changer for me. I did have to mentally prepare myself for it though. When I decided to watch it all the way through was when I decided that I could no longer “not know” the truth.

Leave a Reply

