Pasta with alfredo sauce….and vegan shrimp?

I recently got a coupon from one of those deal sites for wholefoods, where I got 50% off. I decided to get something ridiculous with my savings. Enter vegan seafood. I never really liked seafood when I did eat the real thing, but curiosity got the better of me.

image

It came frozen and vacuum packed. It was pretty tasteless, but had a similar texture to shrimp. The texture actually weirded me out, and I couldn’t eat them all. I guess if you like the texture of seafood, this might be for you.

image

I decided to add them to a pasta dish with alfredo sauce.

Here’s my alfredo sauce recipe:

In a food processor, combine:
– 1 package of silken tofu (340 g)
– 3 cloves of minced garlic
– 1/4 c of olive oil
– 3 T nutritional yeast
– 1 T tapioca starch
– 1 T lemon juice
– 2 t dried basil
– salt and pepper

It makes a pretty thick sauce, so I would add a bit of water until it reaches the consistency you need.

At least the pasta and sauce were good in this dish. I probably wont be buying vegan seafood anytime soon, haha.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

