Potato, Potahto, Frittata, Frittahto

Image

I eat a lot of chickpeas. I also eat a lot of chickpea flour. It is naturally gluten-free, being made from chickpeas, and it is pretty versatile. Plus, it is cheap, which always wins with me. I actually made this awhile ago and am just getting around to posting about it now. This frittata is made primarily of chickpea flour, with a few seasonings, and you can add whatever veggies you happen to have on hand.

Before I get to the chickpea frittata recipe, I also have some exciting news! The newest issue of T.O.F.U. magazine recently came out, and I have two articles in this issue. One article is all about canning your own fruits and vegetables. The other is a recipe for gluten-free and vegan nanaimo bars. I am obviously biased, but to me, these taste amazing and very much like the sickeningly sweet bar I grew up with. You can download the newest issue here. Enjoy!

Now on to the Frittata.
Ingredients:
- 2.5 c of chickpea flour
- 3 c of water
- pepper, to taste
- 1/2 t salt
- 2 T olive oil
- 1 t fresh minced rosemary
- 3 T nutritional yeast
- 1 to 1 1/2 c of diced veggies (peppers, zucchini, onions, asparagus, etc.)
- 1 clove of garlic, minced

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix the chickpea flour, water, pepper, salt, oil, rosemary and nutritional yeast together. I like to use a whisk to make sure it is well combined. Let it sit while you heat up a frying pan. Slightly cook your vegetables and garlic until softened. Mix the vegetables into the chickpea mixture. Pour the mixture into a greased pie plate. Optional: slice a tomato and place on top. Bake in middle of oven for about 30 minutes, until set in middle. You could really bake this less or more, depending on how firm you prefer the frittata. I wouldn’t go less than 20 minutes so that you cook out the raw taste of the chickpea flour. I used a shallow 9 inch glass pie plate, and had a bit left over, so I just poured the rest into a ramekin. Let cool for a few minutes and then slice!

DSC04545

Tagged , ,

3 thoughts on “Potato, Potahto, Frittata, Frittahto

  1. this looks really tasty. I’m new to GF, so I’ll definitely be trying this!

  2. […] Cups of Love, Potato, Potahto, Frittata, Frittahto. I’ve seen vegan quiche recipes with chickpea flour, now Jen’s frittata which is also […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 379 other followers

